SWVHJA 2022 Annual Meeting January 8, 2022 7PM Zoom

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 called to order by President, Cricket Stone Morris. Gordon Reistrup served as administrator for the meeting.

Association Mission:

President Stone read the organization's mission statement: 'The mission of the Southwest Virginia Hunter/Jumper Association is to promote and encourage good sport and good horsemanship; to better educate both the horse and rider for safety and enjoyment in the saddle and on the ground and most importantly, to develop knowledge of the humane treatment of the horse.'

Treasurer Report:

The Treasurer's report reflected a balance of \$17,341.90 in the checking and 21,797.78 in the savings. Sherri West made a motion to approve the report. John Martin seconded the motion. All approved with no abstentions. The report was approved.

2021 Meeting Minutes:

The meeting minutes from the 2021 Annual Meeting were presented for review. Stephen Bickers made a motion to approve the minutes. Ashley Dettor seconded the motion. All approved with no abstentions. The report was approved.

Profit & Loss Statement:

The 2021 P&L statement was presented for review. A member requested further explanation regarding the line item 'Returned Check' in the amount of \$2,200. Executive Secretary Anne Johnson provided general procedure information regarding the Association's returned check process.

Length of Show Day:

Mr. Reistrup guided an interactive discussion regarding how all participants can help to better manage the length of the show day for exhibitors, but most importantly, the horses. Comments were made regarding timeliness at the ring, working carefully with starters, and thinking through potential conflicts when exhibitors are planning their show day. Pre-entries are encouraged. It was noted that the two-minute gate rule can be enforced. Show managers are encouraged to provide efficient shows for exhibitors.

New Business:

- New Thoroughbred Division: A new division devoted to Thoroughbreds will be available in the new show year. Specifications align with the VHSA Thoroughbred division and is open to both amateurs and professionals. Division specifications can be found on the Association's website.
- Low Jumper Division Specifications: Division specifications were reviewed to further clarify the requirements following confusion during the show year. Division specifications can be found on the Association's website

- Association Website: An updated website is in the final stages of development and includes online membership and horse recording options.
- Association Mission and Sportsmanship: Members are asked to keep good sport top of mind, attending to the nature of the community created by this Association. Many made by the submitters for the Junior Scholarship confirm that the Association provides a safe and welcoming space for them to learn and grow. The membership is responsible for continuing to foster this community.
- Educational Opportunities: The COVID-19 pandemic has created significant challenges for the Association to find indoor facilities in which to hold clinics. Many of the college programs were not able to share space that have been used in previous years. The Board is committed to finding educational opportunities for the membership in the coming year, provided that the pandemic subsides.
- **Board Elections:** Board members with completing terms are:
 - Cricket Stone Morris
 - o Luanne Leonard
 - o John Martin
 - Holly Keplinger

Those remaining on the Board are:

- Anne Justis Lesko
- o Sherri West
- Phillip Williamson
- o Gordon Reistrup
- o John Martin has been appointed to complete the term vacated by Jason Berry.

Nominees for open seats are:

- Kayleigh Burke
- o Dianne Hinch
- o Ella Eavers
- o Frankie Beyer
- Caitlin Unterman
- Heather Weaver
- o Robin Mellon
- o Robin Wood

An online poll will be issued by the Executive Secretary upon the conclusion of this meeting.

Sherri West made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Phillip Williamson seconded the motion. All approved by exiting the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 8:08 PM.

-Submitted: Anne Justis Lesko